Posted by: coomercove | September 23, 2011

Charles Burke Passes Away

My condolences and prayers go out to the family of Charles Burke.  The long time industry leader passed away this morning after suffering a brain aneurysm on Thursday night.  I most associate Charles with being the owner of the Singing Americans, the group that helped introduce singers such as Danny Funderburk, Ivan Parker, Michael English, Dwayne Burke, Clayton Inman, and David Sutton to the industry.

On a side note, on Saturday at last week’s NQC, I saw someone who I thought was Charles sitting in on a showcase.  Several times while he was watching the groups on stage, I started to go over and thank him for all his contributions to the music I love.  However, I failed to work up the nerve.  One, I wasn’t sure it was him, and two, I didn’t think he’d want to be bothered while listening to the groups.  Sadly, that will be added to my list of missed opportunities…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

