Posted by: coomercove | October 9, 2007

Gold City v?

With the talk about Mercy’s Mark becoming v2.0, I was thinking about other groups’ version numbers. The easiest to come up with and probably the longest lasting current version is Greater Vision 2.0. They have had one change each at baritone and tenor, with the last change being over ten years ago.

Being a huge Gold City fan, I thought I would post my version list of the group. As can be seen below, I broke the versions at the departure of Jerry Ritchie, the departure of Brian and Ivan, and the formation of the current group. You can argue that the current version started with the addition of Steve Ladd or with Tim Riley’s retirement, but I expect today’s version to have an extended run and justify a version number to themselves.

1.0: Bob Oliver, Jerry Ritchie, Ken Trussell, Tim Riley (1980)

1.1: Brian Free, Jerry Ritchie, Ken Trussell, Tim Riley (1982)

1.2: Brian Free, Ivan Parker, Jerry Ritchie, Tim Riley (1983)

1.3: Benny Blackburn, Ivan Parker, Jerry Ritchie, Tim Riley (1983)

1.2b: Brian Free, Ivan Parker, Jerry Ritchie, Tim Riley (1983)

2.0: Brian Free, Ivan Parker, Mike Lefevre, Tim Riley (1985)

2.1: Brian Free, Ivan Parker, Steve Lacey, Tim Riley (1992)

3.0: Jay Parrack, Steve Lacey, Mark Trammell, Tim Riley (1994)

3.1: Jay Parrack, David Hill, Mark Trammell, Tim Riley (1995)

3.2: Jay Parrack, Jonathan Wilburn, Mark Trammell, Tim Riley (1996)

3.3: Jay Parrack, Jonathan Wilburn, Danny Riley, Tim Riley (2002)

3.4: Steve Ladd, Jonathan Wilburn, Danny Riley, Tim Riley (2004)

3.5: Steve Ladd, Jonathan Wilburn, Danny Riley, Bill Lawrence (2004)

3.4b: Steve Ladd, Jonathan Wilburn, Danny Riley, Tim Riley (2006)

4.0: Steve Ladd, Jonathan Wilburn, Danny Riley, Aaron McCune (2006)

Agree?  Disagree?  Don’t care?

Responses

  1. FYI: Dallas Gilliland was the bass on their first LP — Tim Riley replaced him.

  2. I like the way you’ve extended the version idea…makes it easier to keep up with them.

  3. I think version 4.0 should begin with Steve Ladd. At that point, the tenor, lead, and baritone had all changed since the 3.0 version.

  4. David, I agree with you about 4.0 beginning with Steve if you are going by vocal changes with no other considerations.

    My thinking is that Jonathan was part of v3 long enough to justify holding off on a new version until the formation of the current lineup. When I think of the v3 base lineup, I think of Jay, Jonathan, Mark, and Tim. I even briefly considered making that lineup a version of its own.

    I also held off on starting a new version number when Bill joined due to the fact that Tim returned until Aaron joined.

  5. […] “First Day In Heaven” LP Posted on October 10, 2007 by coomercove Yesterday, I posted my version list of Gold City.  I began of course with 1.0 and a lineup of Bob Oliver, Jerry […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

