Posted by: coomercove | October 10, 2007

Gold City’s “First Day In Heaven” LP

Yesterday, I posted my version list of Gold City.  I began of course with 1.0 and a lineup of Bob Oliver, Jerry Ritchie, Ken Trussell, and Tim Riley.  Dean Adkins commented about the first Gold City LP having Dallas Gilliland as the bass singer.  I commented back, but deleted my response and decided to make a post about Gold City’s “First Day In Heaven” LP.

As many know, Gold City formed out of the Christianairs (or is it the Christianheirs?) from Mississippi.  When Floyd Beck bought the group, he changed the name, moved them to Georgia, and brought in Tim Riley. 

Based on what I’ve been told, the Christianairs had an unreleased recording finished.  They wanted to put Tim’s picture on the LP and release it as Gold City’s first project, but Tim refused to have his photo on an album he didn’t record. To have a product to sale, they put Gold City’s name on the front and a picture of the Christianairs on the back. 

I have seen another account that Dallas did stay long enough to join Gold City and record the LP, but did not stay with them for the move to Georgia, which occured before the release of the LP.

I will admit that I don’t know which account is true.  If anyone happens to have Bob Oliver’s email address, send him a link.  I’d love to know what he has to say.

Responses

  1. Bob Oliver has reviewed and approved the Gold City historical information that is posted at Musicscribe’s sister website, w
    SGHistory.com

    See:
    http://www.sghistory.com/index.php?n=Main.Gold_City

    I’ll email you Bob’s email address so you can verify your information with him.

  2. Looks like you may need to email me…I can’t find a contact link for you on this website! :o)


Leave a Reply

Categories

