Posted by: coomercove | November 6, 2007

The Perrys – Look No Further

After getting caught up at work, I should be back to posting five or six days a week. I know I’ve been slacking and I’ve missed a couple major stories (changes to the Singing News Fan Awards and the Singing News Top 80 chart), but I’ll do better from here on out.

The Perrys Look No Further CD Review

  1. I Know It Was The Blood ***** Great, great song. Other than Gold City’s “God Handled It All”, this is the only fast song that gives me chills. I love the way they work in a full chorus of “Victory In Jesus”.
  2. The Potter Knows The Clay ***** This is probably the my favorite song that I’ve ever heard Libby sing. Great lyrics, vocal, and message.
  3. Every Question Will Be Answered **** Fun quartet-style song from Rodney Griffin and Chris Binion. Each member gets at least one short line to stand out on in the chorus.
  4. Grip Of Grace **** Very good song which could be great with the right arrangement. This arrangement knocks it down to four, almost three, stars. I prefer the way the Brotherhood Quartet do it on their most recent CD, titled The Grip Of Grace. They do it a touch faster and with the bass singer doing the “I’ll be in” line towards the end of the chorus, which sounds a little low for Joseph.
  5. Look No Further ***** I really wish Gold City could get their hands on some of Kyla Rowland’s songs. This is another gem from my favorite writer (and the writer of my favorite song, “Between Me And The Storm”). Again, every member has a chance to be spotlighted during the course of this song. As Daniel Mount pointed out in his review, this song’s arrangement is similar to Mercy Mark’s “Something’s Happening”.
  6. All Is Well **** This is the first feature for Nick “my daddy wouldn’t hire me” Trammell, who also wrote the song. On some phrases, Nick sounds so much like Mark that it is scary. Nick also has his dad’s little karate chop thing going on when he sings. I find it a bit funny that Nick is featured on a country flavored track, the same type of song that Mark seemed to get when he joined the Cathedrals.
  7. Product Of Love **** I wasn’t too fond of this track when I first heard the Perrys sing it to open a concert. It grew on me after listening to the CD. I think it is too slow to open a set, but a good song. “Love Lifted Me” is worked into the song towards the end, and while the lyrics fit well, it seemed out of place to me. I couldn’t put my finger on the why.
  8. The Holy Hills Of Heaven Call Me *** Libby is featured on this Dottie Rambo classic. Good, but not close to the performance of “The Potter Knows The Clay”.
  9. Come And Get Me **** *deep breath* Well, this song is a bit fast. OK, very fast. Fun song to feature Tracy on.
  10. Holding On To Me **** Very nice vocal from Joseph on a song that uses the “Two Footprints In the Sand” imagery. This song is very personal to Joseph and his family and the emotion shows in his performance.
  11. Holy Shore ***** Have I mentioned that Kyla Rowland is my favorite writer? Very powerful song and a great choice as the first single (buy your T-shirt now!). Joseph’s delivery of the first verse is probably one of the best performances I’ve heard him give (along with “I Am The Water” and “Who Am I”). The choir adds tremendously to this song.
  12. Second Opinion *** One of the weaker songs on a project with absolutely NO bad songs. I don’t know if I would have closed the project with this track. Like ending a concert, I would have ended the project with a song that leaves the audience wanting more. I would have moved this track back one and “Holy Shore” to the end.

I’m honest about some things ahead, but hear me out. I am a huge Loren Harris fan and hated to see him leave the Perrys. I missed him even more after hearing the group not long after Nick joined. Honestly, I didn’t think Joseph, while a great singer, was that good in the lead spot. Also, his stage presence was over the top and very distracting. A while back, A Very Fine Line took Joseph to task about it and caused a lot of angry comments. At the time, I completely agreed with him. Now, I can gladly say that Joseph has grown into the position.

This is an absolutely awesome CD. 50 stars for an average of 4.17. I’m surprised that I rated it that low. This is an easy five star project. Four great songs, six very good songs, and two good songs. There isn’t a song on the CD that is worth skipping.

Again, I have to say “thank you!” to Daywind for including the red string to get the plastic off the CD. I have since seen this on Greater Vision’s new CD as well. Hopefully, every release will include it.

I was planning on reviewing the Booth Brothers’ Carry On project first, but I can’t make myself stop listening to this CD long enough to listen to it.

Responses

  1. On some phrases, Nick sounds so much like Mark that it is scary. Nick also has his dad’s little karate chop thing going on when he sings. I find it a bit funny that Nick is featured on a country flavored track, the same type of song that Mark seemed to get when he joined the Cathedrals….I totally agree with every thing said


Leave a Reply

Categories

