Posted by: coomercove | November 21, 2007

Signature Sound Quartet – Stand By Me

Signature Sound Quartet – Stand By Me

  1. Singing Over Yonder *** – Good opening song.
  2. Old Time Christian Way **** – Great up tempo song. I only give it four stars because I think N’Harmony’s cut of the song was better.
  3. Calvary Answers For Me *** – I’ve never cared as much for this song as a lot of people have. I think the Perrys cut of this song is slightly better, but not by much.
  4. I Can’t Wait For Heaven *** – Good album filler. I like Shane Dunlap’s voice.
  5. Stand By Me ***** – Tim Duncan is one of my favorite bass singers. He’s the best vocalist in EH&SS.
  6. I Have Seen The Lord ***** – Great song. Nice job by Ernie.
  7. City Built Four Square *** – Another album filler.
  8. The God Of Today *** – Good vocal by Shane.
  9. Let’s Talk About Jesus… Amen ** – This song just doesn’t do anything for me.
  10. He Is There **** – A soft, beautiful song.
  11. Sometimes This Is Like Heaven To Me *** – Nice to hear George, but I don’t care for the song.

38 stars for a 3.45 star average. I want to say that sounds harsh, but to be honest, I don’t care a whole lot for this project.

Before you Signature Sound lovers attack, I will say that the group has improved tremendously since this project. Their latest project was very good, but I think their best project was probably their self-titled Gaither debut. I’m just not a big fan of Signature Sound. I don’t like the dancing. It works for them and there’s nothing wrong with it, but I don’t like it. I like the singing, but if you are too out of breath to sing, you need to stop dancing. And while I like their singing and will say that they are very good, their style is hit and miss with me. I love a few of their songs (off the top of my head, “He’s My Guide” is an awesome song), most of their songs are okay, but a few leave me kind of… meh. I’m not a EH&SS hater, but they aren’t one of my favorite groups and this is their weakest mainline project. I’ll give it a 3.5 stars for the overall project.

Responses

  1. I say that Tim Duncan is the best vocallist that Signature Sound has ever had.

  2. I guess we all listen to projects differently — I like this project better than most of their more recent ones.

  3. Most people rate this recording higher than their second major label CD, _Great Love_, but I thought _Great Love_ was the more polished recording of the two…they really gelled as a team on that one.

  4. This remains one of my favorite projects by them. I could listen to this one more than some of the others, but then again, I may be partial to Garry Jones’ production over Lari Goss’ recent work.

    Interesting to note, if you bought the indie reissue of this CD direct from EHSS (with the new cover), you’ll notice that “He Is There” is missing. Maybe it has to do with the fact that Garry co-wrote the song…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

