Posted by: coomercove | November 29, 2007

“Big” Jim Hamill (1934-2007) UPDATED

According to this post on the Singing News forums, “Big” Jim Hamill passed away this morning at 5:30 AM.

Jim was a great singer in his prime, but he is best known as one of, if not the, best MC in southern gospel music history and was inducted into the SGMA Hall Of Fame in 2004.

****** UPDATE******

The Singing News website has confirmed the passing of Jim Hamill.

The Singing News has updated their page with a short bio of Jim.  I know it is a trivial thing, but one thing caught my notice.  Jim was born in my family’s hometown of Big Stone Gap, VA.  We moved to Tennessee from Big Stone when I was four years old.  I didn’t know my hometown was the birthplace of a southern gospel legend.

Responses

  1. I remember the first time I seen Mr. Jim Hamill and The Kingsmen was at the age of 10 years old, my family The Eckerts was a singing gospel group as well and they took me to go see The Kingsmen and til this days I have never stopped listening. I just wished I could see him once more before he passed. But, in Heaven I will..

    Much love to you Jim…


Leave a Reply

Categories

