Posted by: coomercove | November 30, 2007

Yes, these are the Mets I know and love.

When it comes to sports, I have my teams and I stick with them through the good and the bad.  I have almost always good teams (Duke Blue Devils basketball) and always bad teams (New York Jets), but they’re my teams.

My favorite baseball team is the New York Mets and I’m used to them having a good year or two followed by several bad years.  Season before last, they were one game from the World Series.  This year, they suffered one of the biggest collapses in MLB history to lose their division and miss the playoffs.  So, you would think they’d try to, you know, improve themselves.  You would be right if we were talking about a team other than the Mets.  See, they’ve had their two decent years and it is time to stink for a few years.  That process has started.

The last two years, they have failed to land a front-line starting pitcher in a trade due to an outright refusal to trade outfield prospect Lastings Milledge.  Now, they have finally pulled the trigger on a trade involving Milledge.  What pitcher did we get in return?  Santana from the Twins?  Bedard from the Orioles?  Blanton, Haren, or Harden from the A’s? You really don’t want to know.

We didn’t get a pitcher in return.  I’m not entirely confident that we got warm bodies.  We traded a 22 year old prospect with all five tools for a 31 year old catcher that can’t hit and a 29 year old outfielder whose best year included 15 home runs (four of them off the Mets).  My only explanation is that the Mets are tired of getting raked over the coals for trading pitcher Scott Kazmir to Tampa Bay for Victor Zambrano a few years back.  If that really is the case, they couldn’t even do that right.  The Kazmir trade is worse than this.  I guess that is a good thing for GM Omar Minaya, because the GM that made the Kazmir trade lost his job.

I realize that Milledge’s stock has slipped and is no where near as high as it was last off season, but to only get back C Brian Schneider and RF Ryan Church is crazy.  I wasn’t expecting Milledge alone to land us a starting pitcher, but I would think him and another player or two could have gotten a pitcher that would have improved the team more than this trade.

Yeah, you gotta’ love this ‘Mazing Mess.

Responses

  1. My nephew…
    http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/players/profile?statsId=7210

  2. I, too, am a Mets fan. I, too, felt downtrodden on November 30, 2007. I am excited now, though, because the Mets landed the best pitcher on the planet and one you mentioned, Johan Santana. Give the front office a little credit. Maybe they’re trying to break the trend of two good years followed by the bad. Let’s Go Mets!

  3. Thanks for reading and commenting…

    I am eager for the season to start and have high hopes that the team will learn and grow from last season’s collapse.

    The trade for Santana helps more than the rotation. His arrival takes the spotlight off the collapse. I think if the team had to deal with nothing but questions about the collapse, it would have taken its toll on the team.


Leave a Reply

Categories

