Posted by: coomercove | January 23, 2008

Personal Blog – I’m still around

I’ve not given up blogging, despite the fact that it appears that way. I’m just not been in the mindset to blog about music right now. Despite the lack of posts, the visitor count has continued to increase. What does it say when you get more visitors when you don’t blog than when you do? Anyway, thank you to everyone that has kept me and my family in your prayers. They are needed and appreciated. Thank you to everyone that is hanging around waiting on me to get back to regular post.

My grandmother’s passing is the first time in my life that someone really close to me has passed away. I don’t know how well I’m handling it. I was ok during the services themselves, but I lost it when we left for home. It hit me that the next time I went to the house where some of my fondest childhood memories took place, it wouldn’t be mawmaw’s house. It is pawpaw’s now. I love my pawpaw, but going there has always been going to mawmaw’s. That will take a lot of getting used to.

The holidays will be really tough this year. I guess the first holiday after a loved one’s passing is always hard, but two things standout with my grandmother. First, her birthday was November 27. We always celebrated her birthday at Thanksgiving. The second thing is that I’ve always said is that no matter what, I WILL spend Christmas at mawmaw’s. I’ve said that if they ever move Christmas to my parent’s house (like they moved Thanksgiving several years ago), I will still go to mawmaw’s, even if I’m there by myself. There’s a Christmas song about this situation, but I can’t even type the name of it right now. I really doubt I’ll ever be able to listen to the song ever again.

As kind of a remembrance, I’ve been eating the foods that I remember my grandmother making for me most often. My favorite food is cheeseburgers, and my grandmother made the best one in the world. Needless to say, my wife Lisa has made me cheeseburgers a few times during the last week. Another food I always associate with mawmaw’s is Velveeta cheese. Lisa went to the store last night and surprised me with a block of Velveeta. When I was little, the drink of choice at mawmaw’s was Coke. Not two liters of Coke, but the tall glass bottles you took back to the grocery store after you emptied them. The day after my grandmother passed away, Lisa took me to three or four places looking for Coke in the glass bottles. We finally ended up finding them at Wal-Mart.

I have to say THANK YOU to Lisa. She has done so much for me the last week (just like she always does). She’s been everything I could have asked for. She’s been there for me when I needed her and helped me be what I needed to be for my mom. Thank you, Lisa. Not only are you half of me, you are the better half. Thank you.

Responses

  1. No need to apologize to us, my friend. We have all just kept you in our prayers, and are anticipating your return to the blog world. It’s never easy to lose someone close to you, but the first one is especially hard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

