Posted by: coomercove | February 6, 2008

Mercy’s Mark: Nothing’s Happening (At this moment)

Mercy’s Mark’s owner Garry Jones sent out the letter below to their email list. If you don’t want to read the entire thing, the main point is that it is not financially viable to continue the quartet full-time. The group may perform at selected events. Jones’ plans to do some solo dates and to resume producing other artists’ projects (Hey Gold City, call Garry today!).

One thing I’ll point out is that while Jones says that Mercy’s Mark may perform some dates, he fails to mention who would actually be Mercy’s Mark in that event. Is it Brent Mitchell, Josh Feemster, and Garry? Christian Davis? Scott Allen? Chris West and his brother (I forget his name. Craig, maybe)? WHO? If Garry could get Brent, Josh, Chris, and Craig(?) together again, I’d gladly travel a few hours to catch them in concert.

Hello everyone,
I hope you are having a great year so far. I have not written for a couple of months as I have been absorbed in the holidays and reconnecting with my family. I have also been exploring future interests for myself and Mercy’s Mark.

As most of you are aware, Mercy’s Mark discontinued touring in November of 2007. I vowed at that time that no drastic decisions would be made until all options could be explored and I had the time needed to pray about the future. After careful consideration and prayer, Mercy’s Mark will not resume touring to the degree we were. There have been promoters who have expressed interest in booking MM in the future for selected dates. Because of this we are not officially disbanding but will consider a few selected dates on a limited basis.

Returning to the quartet world as an artist was a significant decision and a desire I had but only as it was practical from a Christian business perspective. At the present time I have determined that it is just not financially practical for Mercy’s Mark to immediately resume touring. However, it is my desire that God’s will and purpose for MM be fulfilled. I will continue to keep you updated on any changes for the group and any concert dates that we may perform.

As for my immediate plans I have scheduled a few select concert piano solo appearances and I am actively returning to the production world to arrange and produce recording projects for other artists. Being in the studio already this year has definitely rekindled my passion and excitement for assisting in the development of artist’s and their musical vision. I look forward to what projects I am privileged to be a part of in 2008.

You have prayerfully supported Mercy’s Mark since its inception and for that I want to personally offer my sincere thanks and appreciation. We have made so many wonderful friends along the way and have not forgotten your gracious acceptance. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. I look forward to seeing you again somewhere and pray God’s blessings for you throughout this year.

Sincerely,
Garry Jones

Responses

  1. Yes, Chris West’s brother is named Craig.


Leave a Reply

Categories

