Posted by: coomercove | February 9, 2008

Southern Gospel Baseball Leagues

In the Singing News’ Forum thread I linked to yesterday, I posted an analogy of local groups to minor league baseball levels.

Think of it as like minor league baseball. You start out in the minors and work your way up. Singing in your church is A ball. Singing in other local churches is AA ball. Singing in a wider area is AAA ball. Full-time groups are the majors. I would call being ready to open for paid concerts with top level groups as being “September Call-ups.” These minor league call ups pull from the AAA level and exceptional talents at the AA level.

Looking at it again, I think I would add Rookie League A ball to the analogy.

  • Rookie A ball – Singing in your home church
  • A ball – Singing in other local churches
  • AA – Singing in a wider area of churches
  • AAA – Regional groups that are in demand and cover a several state area, yet are still part time
  • Majors – Full time groups

I guess NQC would be the World Series and the celebrity softball game would be the All-Star game.

I posted the thought in response to someone that mentioned that local groups, even ones that had not performed in public before, should be given the chance to open for major groups. Part of their reasoning was how else would a group get known.  I’ve been around “weekend warrior” groups my entire life with my dad (typically at high AA and AAA levels).  So I was sort of shocked that someone would think that brand new local groups should earn their reputation opening for major groups instead of local churches.

Responses

  1. […] been reading Nick’s article, read his past articles as well).  It is somewhat similar to my post from last month about thinking of the different levels in southern gospel music in the same terms […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

