Posted by: coomercove | March 1, 2008

What a mess….

Kyle has a great post about the mess involving the Imperials and the use of the group’s name.

After you read his blog post, you can follow up with this letter from, IMO, the real Imperials (the young group) and this article from Christianity Today.

I called the situation a “mess.” Kyle called it a “fiasco.” Truthfully, it is a shame and an embarrassment that the name of of one of SGM’s best quartets is involved in this. What kind of witness are the former members displaying for the world? How can a very good young quartet with a bright future get established in this tough industry when it has to spend time, money, prayers, and effort on lawsuits instead of ministering?

I hate to admit it, but my favorite group of Imperials was the 1970s era with Jim, Terry, Sherman, Armond, and Joe. Now, four of those five our involved on the wrong side of this mess. I’ve been planning for months on ordering some of the remastered Imperials cds from the 70s. Now, I don’t know if I should. Which group would benefit from my purchase? I don’t want to buy anything that would help support a legal struggle against the real group. I’ll be emailing the real Imperials and finding out. I’ll update this when I hear back from them.

UPDATE:  I have heard back from the Imperials office and the remastered CDs come from Big God Records.  The owners of Big God Records are Armond and Bonnie Morales.

Responses

  1. After reading all that letter, it seems like a soap opera to me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

