Posted by: coomercove | March 6, 2008

Videos of Big Stone Gap, VA tornado damage

I’ve found a couple of videos of Big Stone Gap, VA on youtube. The first shows the damage around Bullitt Park. That is where my family usually holds our family reunion. The football field is where my dad’s high school plays football. The baseball field is where my cousin Brian and I used to go to play ball during the summer. The playground is, well, where I used to play.

Going to Big Stone Gap/Appalachia/my grandmother’s house was always my favorite place to go. Nothing like going to grandma’s. The damage isn’t as bad as it could’ve been, but is still hard to see the town where I grew up in that shape. This, along with the recent passing of my grandmother who lived in Appalachia, well…. words fail…

The second video starts with a little footage of the damage before three interviews of townspeople.

Responses

  1. WOW! It is incredible to think of what kind of power is required to do that kind of damage.

  2. […] coomercove added an interesting post today (Videos of Big Stone Gap, VA tornado damage).Here’s a little bit of it:That is where my family usually holds our family reunion. The football field is where my dad’s high school plays football. The baseball field is where my cousin Brian and I used to go to play ball during the summer. … […]

  3. Thanks for posting these, it was devistating! We live in ohio but my husband is from Tennesse, he was on his way to Tenn. that night n for some odd reason he said he just felt the need to come home n he did or he would of been right through there at that time. We go through big stone gap about once a month going to Tenn. May God bless everyone that was there n has strings attached to them. our prayers are with them all! Troy n Brenda Rice

  4. I grew up in Cracker’s neck – or at least it feels that way…..thanks for posting……


Leave a Reply

Categories

