Posted by: coomercove | April 9, 2008

Old Paths Quartet promotion

Head to Daniel Mount’s blog to download several (eight) tracks from the Old Paths’ newest project, Today.  Fittingly, the downloads will only be available today, until 9:00 PM.  Daniel’s post mentions that this is a way to introduce the group’s music to listeners, along with being the featured group on Paul Heil’s Gospel Greats this weekend.

I’ve downloaded the tracks and have to say that I am very impressed by what I hear.  To be honest, I was not that big a fan of Jeremy Peace when he was with the Kingsmen.  He was a super nice guy, even recognizing my dad, Lisa, and me at the Kingsmen Reunion last year after seeing us at a Christmas party (he was just attending the party, not singing) a few months before.  Vocally, he didn’t sound that good with the Kingsmen, IMO.  That is not the case with the Old Paths.  He sounds great, which is strange because I think the Old Paths have a bit of the old Kingsmen sound.  In fact, I’ve seen people mention the possibility of a Kingsmen tribute project from the group, and I would love to see it happen.  Judging by the songs I downloaded, they would do an awesome job on such a project.

I have to say that this promotion is a great way for a relatively young group to get its music out there for people to hear it.  At the very least, it has made the group one new fan.

Responses

  1. I think it’s a good idea, too–one that other groups would do well to try.

  2. I agree with you about Jeremy. I think he sounds better with his current group. He can still get really, really super high, but he is allowed to be more natural and mellow now. Love this album – I didn’t have to download it because it’s already a part of my CD collection.

    I hope more new groups will try this download idea.


Leave a Reply

Categories

