Posted by: coomercove | April 21, 2008

Two tracks on Gold City’s upcoming CD revealed

Singing News Forum poster Matt Paasch posted that Steve Ladd let him know two songs that will be on Gold City’s upcoming Moment Of Truth project.

  • Cast Your Bread Upon The Water
  • Turn Your Back

“Cast Your Bread Upon The Water” is an Imperials song from their 1978 project, Sail On. The project was the first released after Russ Taff joined the group. This song has been covered several times, the last time that I know of is on the Gaither Vocal Band’s Give It Away project. This is one of my favorite songs by the Imperials.  Although I’ve heard many versions of this song, I can’t wait to hear Gold City’s.

“Turn Your Back” is a cover of a song written by Dianne Wilkinson and recorded on the Cathedrals’ 1982 project, Something Special. I can’t say that I’m familiar with this song, so I’ll be pulling out my mp3 player to have a listen as soon as possible.

Responses

  1. […] 21, 2008 by burkesbrainwork Brandon over at Coomer Cove has the scoop from the SN forums on Gold City’s upcoming CD.  I too am interested in hearing Gold […]

  2. Hey…there’s a video on YouTube of the Cats singing that song,Turn Your Back….It’s done in the Mark Trammell/Kirk Talley/George Younce/Glen Payne/Roger Bennett era…It sounds pretty good to me!

  3. I LOVE “Turn Your Back,” especially the studio version….

  4. “Turn Your Back” is one of my faves from the Bennett/Trammell/Talley era. The video on YouTube is the best performance in my opinion. Smooth singing and Roger’s piano accompaniment is solid as ever.

  5. The “Turn Your Back” video can be found on my YouTube page. Click on my username and it should take you there. Here is the URL that will take you directly to it:

  6. […] video – “Turn Your Back” Posted on April 22, 2008 by coomercove In the comments about the old Cathedral song, “Turn Your Back” being covered on Gold City’s new […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

