Posted by: coomercove | September 12, 2008

NQC 2008 – Night 4

After being so unsatisfied with the webcast the first three nights, I honestly wasn’t that interested in it last night.  I had it playing as background music while Lisa and I re-arranged my office and moved some furniture.  Since I wasn’t watching it that closely, I didn’t notice any problems or hiccups with the webcast connection.  Of course.  *bangs head*  Why do I feel like Charlie Brown?

Anyway, here are a few thoughts on what I really paid attention to.

  • The Kingdom Heirs sounded rough.  I was telling them to stop singing after the first encore of “What We Needed.”  Naturally, they didn’t hear me and did another encore.  Luckily, the second encore was better than the first.  They sounded much better during their first main stage appearance this week.
  • The Dove Brothers were good, but Ben Speer was too loud while he was on stage with them.
  • I like McCray Dove a lot more now than I used to.  I don’t know why.  He’s become one of my favorites.
  • Eric Dove is still way under-utilized.
  • Gold City was brilliant to start their set with a slower song (“By Your Grace, For Your Glory”).  It’s hard to follow the Dove’s “Get Away Jordan” with another fast song.
  • I wish they’d pick another song to feature Bruce on rather than “That’s What I’m Talking About”.  It isn’t a bad song, but it is far from being a favorite.
  • It was obvious that they’d end their set with “I Love This Land”.  Nice touch having the flag brought on stage and extending the honoring of veterans to public servants such as police and firefighters.
  • Steve Ladd and TaRanda Greene!!  Doug Harrison likes you, he REALLY likes you!  And Doug doesn’t like anyone!  Congratulations!
  • I also caught a little of the Dixie Echoes set.  I like them a lot more than I thought I would.
Responses

  1. Brandon,
    I was reading your blog posts about the NQC. I have to say, experienced in hosting webcasting myself, that it doesn’t do justice for the live performance. That being said, Gerald Wolfe commented on stage at the end of Thursday’s concert that “If you want to hear us sing good, buy the cd!” 🙂
    Strangely, and to my surprise, the sound in that coliseum is awesome!

  2. had to add this too.
    The Dixie Echoes are by far one of my favorite groups….they ended their Thursday night performance with “Not in a Million Years” and Michael Booth jumped in (unscripted) on the drums…it was an awesome performance and probably one of the best of the whole week. I wish I could get that on video.


Leave a Reply

Categories

