Posted by: coomercove | February 9, 2009

Gaither Vocal Band wins Grammy for that???!!!!

Last night, the Gaither Vocal Band won the Grammy Award for Southern/Country/Bluegrass Gospel Album of the year for Lovin’ Life. Yuck.

I’m thinking this is like a ball game where a referee makes a terrible call against one team, then follows it up with another bad call that hurts the other team to make up for the first bad call. Projects from the Gaither Vocal Band probably should have won this award in the past but didn’t, so they gave it to them this year to make up for that. That’s the only reason I can think for the project, which I think is the worst the group has ever released, to win.

I guess it makes a nice going away present for Guy and Marshall, though.

Responses

  1. But at the same time, it’s still better than anything else in that category!

  2. I gave “Lovin Life” an average of 3.46 stars per song and an overall rating of 4 stars. Not the best SG CD of 2008 but a very good CD nevertheless. My favorites included “I’m Forgiven”, “The Difference Is In Me”, “I’m Loving Life”, “When I Cry”, and an awesome song that seems to have been totally overlooked in “Prisioner Of Hope”.

  3. I have to agree with Brandon…and disagree with Daniel.

    Quality & Grammy’s are not directly correlated (especially in southern/country/bluegrass category)…remember The Light Crust Doughboys?

  4. I have to agree with Daniel. It is the best out of the albums nominated. To be honest, I think they deserve a Grammy for their hard work. I know of several albums worthy of Grammy Awards (God Is Good, Loving God Loving Each Other, Everything Good, and Give It Away); but it’s good enough that Lovin’ Life won even though those others didn’t.

  5. I happened to love some of the songs on that
    album! I think it is sweet that Guy and Marsh
    FINALLY get some kind of recognition!

    If you really listen to Prisoner of Hope it is a great
    song, as well as Home of Your Dreams and When
    I Cry. I liked this project much more that I did
    Everything Good, or God is Good! Even if it did
    have some “repeat songs”, at least the arrangements were good.

  6. Yeah, of the five nominated CDs in that category, I think _Room For More_ by the Booth Brothers was the best overall, followed by Karen Peck and New River’s _Ephesians One_.

    But RIAA members haven’t heard of those two artists yet…at least not enough to vote for them over a legend like Gaither.

    I wouldn’t have been shocked at all if Charlie Louvin had won, given the RIAA’s track record.


Leave a Reply

Categories

