Posted by: coomercove | October 9, 2009

Anyone else tired of hearing about “canned music”?

Yes… I’m still alive.  I’ve been working on a side project that is taking up most of my time on the computer.  I hope to be announcing the project sometime next month.

This morning, I’ve seen several articles, posts, and comments across the southern gospel internet world demonizing “canned music”.  I know this is nothing new as the use of sound tracks has been looked down upon for a long time and the topic is discussed frequently on several forums.  For some reason though, this morning it all just struck a nerve.

Do I like every group using sound tracks?  No!  Of course I’d love to see every group, or at least all the top tier groups, with at least a three piece band.  However, I realize that is the current norm and all the complaining and whining about it isn’t going to change that.

You say, “Well, that didn’t use to be the norm.  Everybody used to have a band”.   That’s true, and gas didn’t used to be more than $2 a gallon with a constant threat to shoot back up to $3 or $4 a gallon.  It didn’t used to cost over $10,000 to record a project with all the bells and whistles we’ve grown accustomed to hearing.

However, if you still want to complain about all the canned music, I think there is something you can do.  Every time you go to a southern gospel concert, put a $50 in the offering plate, not a $5.  If it is a ticketed event, give the group manager an extra $20 or $30 and don’t take a stack of CDs or t-shirts in exchange.  And get all your friends to do the same.  And if you say you can’t afford to do that, well, the group can’t afford a full band either, so you’re even.

Now, I’m stepping off my soapbox.

Responses

  1. Amen, brother! Preach it! 🙂
    I, for one, do not understand why there are some that act as if using tracks is a violation of the 11th commandment.
    It is what it is – tracks aren’t going anywhere, so get over it already.
    (I’m sorry – was there room on the soapbox for two? ;D)

  2. Great post Brandon… I could not have said it better myself!


Leave a Reply

Categories

