Posted by: coomercove | April 3, 2010

Open Letter From Brandon Coomer

Well, where do I begin?

If anyone is still reading this, I am alive.  Sometimes I don’t feel like I’m fully living, but I am alive.  I’m going through some things right now and covet your prayers.

So, where have I been?  When I started this blog, my wife was my encourager.  If I went a day or two without posting, she would push me to sit down and post.  Over the last year, my encourager pulled back and eventually stopped encouraging at all.  I now can see that the lack of encouragement, along with a lot of other feelings and emotions under the surface, is the reason my posting has been so sporadic the last year and non-existent the last few months.

So, what am I going through?  The short version is I’m getting divorced.  It isn’t what I want, definitely not something I ever expected, but with what I now know, I will (eventually) be much better for it.  The last four years of my life have been devoted to a lie.  It is time to close that chapter, although it is a very painful thing to do.

(Yes, I do realize I started the last two paragraphs with “So”, which is okay, because a lot of the time, I feel like I’m doing “so-so”. LOL)

As for the blog, I do plan on getting more involved with it.  I also expect my postings to be a lot more personal than they have been in the past.  Right now, I think I will be frequently posting about songs that are speaking to me, encouraging me, and opening me up to God’s will while I go through this storm of life.

My favorite song is Kyla Rowland’s “Between Me And The Storm” by Gold City.  Right now, I am without a doubt in the biggest storm of my life.  I have lived a very blessed life.  I’ve not had a lot of large storms to weather, and I’ve always wondered in the back of my mind, “Why does that song mean so much to me?”  Now, I know.

“When the storms of life are so high I can’t mount them, then He steps between me and the storm.”

Responses

  1. I will definitely be praying for you.

    • Thank you, Andy. All the prayers are needed and appreciated!

  2. Brandon will continue to pray!

    • Thank you! I hope your foot is okay.

  3. I’m sorry for the storm you are weathering right now. I pray that you will continue to lean Jesus as your Encourager.

    I’m glad to see you posting again. About your idea of future blog subjects, I think that it is a marvelous idea to post about individual songs that are speaking to you. One such song that speaks to me is What the Storm Does Not Know. It gives me much encouragement and determination!

    • Thank you, Diana. That is one of my favorite Paid In Full songs and it is very fitting for me at the moment. I’ve not listened to it in a while because it isn’t on my mp3 player. I’ll be fixing that in the next couple of minutes.

  4. Brandon, I’m sorry for your troubles. I’m sure this time is very difficult for you. May our risen Lord bless you richly.

    • Thank you for the kind words.

  5. You will weather the storm Brandon…and like you said, you will be better for it! I love you and I am praying for you.

  6. Brandon – been there. Felt like I had been drop-kicked off a cliff.
    Praying for you to be enveloped by His perfect Love.
    He Will Hide Me (Perrys) was a lifeline for me, especially the 2nd verse.
    Until We Fly Away (EHSS) was another.
    Peace to you, my brother!

    • Thank you.

      I will listen to the songs you mentioned.

  7. […] City & Kingsmen (If you have not read my open letter from this weekend, please click here to do […]

  8. I’m really sorry. Will be praying.

    • Thank you for the prayers. I am sorry as well, but I will heal, grow, and move on. Not expecting it to be easy, but I have faith I will make it.

  9. I cannot imagine what you are feeling during this difficult situation, but please rest assured that God has you in the palm of His hand. I will be praying for you- and kudos on keeping up the blogging; I have always enjoyed your site. I know God’s got big things in store for you!

  10. praying for you, sometimes these things happen and leave us winded. God in his wisdom uses them to push us closer to Him 🙂

    i enjoy your blogging, looking forward to more insights 🙂

    Phil


Leave a Reply

Categories

