Posted by: coomercove | April 6, 2010

Fans or Friends?

I often see on message boards and blog comments posters saying they are not fans of southern gospel artists, but actually their friends.  To be honest, I’ve always kind of rolled my eyes at that in most instances.  I do know that some people have known individual artists long enough and close enough to be their friends.  However, in most cases, we are fans.

However, my thinking on that has been changed slightly over the last five weeks.  I have asked a few southern gospel artists to pray for me during this time.  Making a prayer request doesn’t make me a friend, it is part of being a Christian brother.  After I asked for prayer, I have continued to receive emails, facebook messages, and text messages from artists asking how I was doing and letting me know they were still praying for me.  What has surprised me is the messages I’ve received from people I have not talked to about my situation.  For example, Friday night, I was greeted by name, a hug, and was asked how I was doing by someone I hadn’t spoken with in almost a year.  That tells me that the people I have talked to have cared enough to share with others that I needed prayer.  Please don’t misunderstand me.  I still do not consider myself close friends with any southern gospel artists, but I now fully understand that artists do care more than I ever would have anticipated.

With all that said, I want to thank everyone that has been praying for me and have asked others to pray.  I won’t mention names, but they know who they are, and more importantly, God knows who they are.

Responses

  1. I have to say that I am with you Brandon… I lost my mom last weekend… And I have recieved messages of support and prayers from several SG artists… There are several out there that genuinely care about us as their fans/friends…

  2. I’ve got mixed feelings on this one. On one hand, I’m not exactly close with any of the artists, but when Roy Webb calls me by my first name and greets me with a hug or I’m on the sidewalk of a town in Indiana and Ernie Haase yells “Hey Clarence, how are ya?” from across the street, I can’t say I’m just a nameless nobody to these guys either.

    Once a friend of mine and I were talking to Phil Cross at NQC. When Mrs. Cross joined the conversation, Phil introduced my friend and I as “two friends of Poet Voices’ ministry”. I liked that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

