Posted by: coomercove | May 21, 2010

Concert Review: Booth Brothers, East Stone Gap, VA

The Booth Brothers were awesome last night at East Stone Gap United Methodist Church.  They did a several songs from Declaration, but not as many as I expected.  They did quite a bit of their other material.

The coolest thing about the concert was that they did “Tears Are A Language”.  I’d sent Michael a message on facebook requesting it… told him I was going through a divorce and the song had meant a lot to me over the last couple of months.  About 1/2 way through their first set, Michael stopped and said “Robert, I’m changing the program just a bit”.  He mentioned that someone sent him a message requesting “Tears Are A Language” and he thought it was for that night’s concert, so just in case, he wanted to sing it now.  He spoke a few minutes and quoted some scripture from Romans before Jim started singing.

During intermission, I approached Michael and he shook my hand.  I thanked him for doing the song and he reached out and grabbed me in a hug once he realized I was the one who messaged him.  He said that Ronnie had been through it and that if I needed them, to lean on them, to keep messaging him and keep in touch.  When I got home, he had already sent me a message thanking me for coming to the concert and encouraging me. That was unexpected.

They ended their first set with “Then I Met The Master” and brought the house down.  I told Ronnie before the service that the new CD was the best version of the song I’d ever heard.  He seemed very humble about it and appreciative.  I asked Michael what Mosie Lister thought of the arrangement.  He said Mosie didn’t go that wild over it, but Bill Gaither did.  He had them sing it at the Gaither “Thanksgiving” taping last week.

It was also a long concert.  It started at 7 PM and ended about 9:40 PM.  They took a 15-20 minute intermission.

I also want to mention that the movies projected on the screen during the concert and the lighting did add to my enjoyment of the concert.  The movies were understated, nothing that really distracted from the concert (for example, during “Sail On” the screen showed clouds).  The scripute that Michael read were also projected so the crowd could read along.  The lighting went along very well with Michael’s playing of the air drums.

Michael stopped the concert twice to read scripture and talk and also did a 10-15 minute lesson at the end.  I know he gets some complaints about it, but I appreciate seeing someone, especially from the top group right now, making the ministry side more important than the entertainment side.  He said during the concert that he doesn’t mind entertaining, but he also has to share the Word.  He said he knows he gets complaints, but it is the people that complain about it that he is most concerned about it.

Song List:

  • Absolute Peace
  • I See Grace
  • I Believe (standing ovation)
  • I’m Feeling Fine
  • I’m The Lamb
  • Look For Me At Jesus Feet
  • Sail On
  • Trading The Old Cross
  • Scripture from Romans 5
  • Tears Are A Language
  • Help Me
  • All Over The World
  • Scripture Ephesians 2:2-10
  • Then I Met The Master (standing ovation)
  • Break/offering
  • He Saw It All
  • Castles In The Sand (band)
  • Life’s Railway To Heaven (band)
  • I’ll Fly Away (band, standing ovation, encore)
  • Without The Lord (around one mic)
  • Over The Moon (around one mic)
  • I’m Forgiven
  • Secret Place
  • Through It All
  • Michael’s closing
Responses

  1. sounds awesome! wish i could have went!


Leave a Reply

Categories

