Posted by: coomercove | April 4, 2011

Concert Review – The Perrys, Kingsport, TN

The Perrys – Sullivan Baptist Church, Kingsport, TN

The Perrys gave a great performance last night to a standing room only crowd at Sullivan Baptist.  I’d consider the church to be medium sized and I don’t believe you could have squeezed in anyone else comfortably.  The crowd was into the singing from the opening song and the Perrys seemed to feed off that for the entire concert.  The Perrys had a lot of energy, which is a little surprising to me since they no longer have any live instrumentation.

The stand out songs were what you would expect with the Perrys.  “Did I Mention” went over extremely well and the acappella encore was incredible.  The crowd ate up “He Will Hide Me”, which was Bryan Walker’s first feature of the night.  Joesph shared how he co-wrote “Grace Doesn’t Remember”.  The song is my favorite from the Blue Skies Coming CD, so that was really cool to hear.  “Celebrate Me Home” and “If You Knew Him” were a powerful one-two punch to end the concert (“Almost Morning” was added in as an alter call after the pastor spoke).

In my review for Blue Skies (Coming), I said I didn’t feel the two songs featuring Bryan Walker did him justice.  To me, they just didn’t demonstrate what he is capable of vocally, which is understandable since they were not selected with him in mind.  During Bryan’s introduction, Tracy naturally mentioned Bryan’s American Idol experience and told how during auditions, Bryan had to sing a short acappella song to impress the judges.  Tracy asked Bryan to step forward and do the same  for the crowd, which included Bryan’s parents and sister.  Bryan gave an awesome rendition of “Great Is Thy Faithfulness”.  I told Bryan that performance showed the voice that blew me away the first time I heard him sing with the Dixie Melody Boys several years ago.

Set List 

  • Every Time I Need Him
  • His Love Lights The Way
  • I Know It Was The Blood
  • Did I Mention
  • He Will Hide Me
  • Great Is Thy Faithfulness
  • I Know What I’m Singing About
  • This Ole Sinner Testifies
  • He Loves To Save
  • Grace Doesn’t Remember
  • Celebrate Me Home
  • If You Knew Him
  • Almost Morning

When time permits, I will be uploading some videos to you tube from the concert.

Leave a Reply

Categories

