Posted by: coomercove | August 13, 2010

Gold City Reunion at NQC ’10: Which 2 songs?

As announced yesterday on several blogs, Brian Free, Ivan Parker, Mike Lefevre, Tim Riley, and Garry Jones will have a two song Gold City reunion as part of the 100th Anniversary of Southern Gospel Music Celebration on Saturday at the National Quartet Convention.  So, which two songs do you expect them to sing?

They almost have to sing “Midnight Cry” or a riot would break out in Freedom Hall.  For the second song, I’m guessing “Getting Ready To Leave This World”.  Although, I think it would be great if they did the 10th Anniversary Medley.

Responses

  1. My guesses are “Midnight Cry” and “When I Get Carried Away.” Those seem to be the 2 that have stood the test of time the most.

  2. “Midnight Cry” and “In My Robe Of White.”

  3. I will take another approach and say they sing “Under Control” and “Midnight Cry”, it will be good to hear Ivan sing with a Quartet again…

  4. Somehow, I don’t think they’ll end up only singing two songs. If it’s two, my guesses are “One Scarred Hand” and “Midnight Cry”.

  5. “Midnight Cry” seems obvious, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they did two quicker songs given the context of the showcase.

    “I Think I’ll Read It Again” was their first number one song, but I agree with Swain that “Robe Of White” would be the best choice.

    I’d like to see them follow that with everyone expecting “Midnight Cry” and Tim stepping up and doing “Ezekiel Saw The Wheel” instead. :o)

  6. My guesses were “Midnight Cry” and “When I Get Carried Away” and although I have read these posts, haven’t changed my mind. However, “Robe of White” would be a good one as far as upbeat and one of their first well-known ones which goes back to the historical aspect of it (at least as far as them.)

  7. There Rose a Lamb and One Scarred Hand would the ones I would most love to hear.

  8. I’d like to hear that lineup sing “Midnight Cry”; but Ivan doesn’t sing that song very well anymore. I would like to hear “When I Get Carried Away” carried by Mike LeFevre, like they used to do. I’d like to hear “John Saw” as well.

    Any of these songs would go well with my favorite Gold City song, “One Scarred Hand”. 🙂

  9. “Midnight Cry” and One scarred hand

  10. Hello, I sing bass for The Sojourners Quartet based out of Elizabeth City, NC. We sing “When I get Carried Away” and Midnight Cry”. I’ll be at the NQC thursday and friday at the Mansion Records booth #295. This booth will be jumping for sure. All new artists for the new record label, Manor House Music, will be hanging out. Stop by to see us!

    Woodie

  11. I Would likeTo see Gary jones Back
    playing keyboards and aranging
    again he is good i loved him back
    in 80 to 90s signed john norris


Leave a Reply

Categories

